National award nominees announced

By Jon Roe

The Dinos football team announced their award nominees for the major national awards Wednesday. They put up quarterback Erik Glavic for the Hec Crighton as Canadian Interuniversity Sport MVP, defensive lineman Linden Gaydosh for the Peter Gorman as the CIS rookie of the year, offensive tackle Kirby Fabien for the J.P. Metras Trophy as CIS down lineman of the year and linebacker Geoff Paiement for the President’s Award as defensive player of the year.

The national nominations double as the team’s selections for the Canada West conference awards announced next week leading up to the Hardy Cup.

Glavic transferred to the Dinos in the off-season and helped the team break or tie four offensive records this season. The team set new marks in yards gained, first downs and completion percentage and tied the team record for touchdowns. Glavic completed 129 passes on 191 attempts for 2,186 yards, the fourth best total in school history. He threw 14 touchdowns against only six interceptions and added another 503 yards and six touchdowns on the ground. Glavic won the Crighton in 2007 with the St. Mary’s University Huskies. The last Dino to win the award was slotback Don Blair in 1995.

Gaydosh played every down for the Dinos until sitting out the second-half against the University of Alberta Golden Bears last week. He was a key part of a defensive line which allowed the least rush yardage in the conference and the third-least in the country. Quarterback Dalin Tollestrup was the last Dino to win the Peter Gorman in 2006.

Fabien red-shirted last year before starting every game at right tackle this past season, helping block for 2,200 total rushing yards, the most in the country. Defensive end Garret Everson was the last Dino to win the Metras in 1998.

Paiement started all eight games for the Dinos in his fourth year and recorded 36 tackles to go along with a sack and two interceptions. He also racked up 11.5 tackles in the Dinos only loss of the year, to the University of Sasktchewan Huskies in week one. The last Dino to win the President’s Award was Darcy Kopp in 1985.

The national award winners are revealed the week of the Vanier Cup, Nov. 28.


Leave a comment